How to connect Domain to server?

Discussion in 'Help Desk' started by Dragon_Foxy, Oct 19, 2015.

  1. djl0st12

    djl0st12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Think of it this way.. A dedicated IP is the address to a nice home. Which means it has a mailbox (25565 port) where, by default, mail (minecraft traffic) is sent too. A non dedicated IP, is the address to an apartment complex. In order to get mail to the right person, you have to specify that persons apt number ( their non default port) to get mail there.

    So in short. If you do not have a dedicated IP, and your port number is not 25565, that means to connect to your server, you would need to do mc.teamfactions.net:xxxxx
     
  2. djl0st12

    djl0st12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Testing for ya.. be with ya in a moment mate.
     
  3. jacksharkben

    jacksharkben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    117
    Well the official help starts with a ticket to mcprohosting.com .
     
  4. Dragon_Foxy

    Dragon_Foxy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried adding port next to the domain, it still doesent work! ;n;
     
  5. Dragon_Foxy

    Dragon_Foxy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    ik, but im trying to see if some1 else knows or had the same problem and will try to help me. Support is my next road to go.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. djl0st12

    djl0st12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    K.

    At the moment, I can neither connect with the mc.teamfactions.net NOR 108.168.128.169

    Which indicates there is an underlying issue with the server.

    Is the server running at the moment? Is there an abundance of errors in the console?

    IE. The domain pointing has nothing to do with the issue at the moment. Unless 108.168.128.169 is not the server's IP.
     
  7. Dragon_Foxy

    Dragon_Foxy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is running. Try to add port next to IP, itll work afterwards
     
  8. djl0st12

    djl0st12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
  9. Dragon_Foxy

    Dragon_Foxy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well, that is just weird ;n; Thank you anyway. Support, here i come xD
     
  10. ChrisC

    ChrisC Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    259
    Once you have Purchase your DomainName.com Domain from domainhost, Go to DNS Zone File on your domainhost account.

    "A Record"
    1. Go to "Add Record" and set it to a "A" record Type.
    2. Host = Play
    3. Points to: Server IP not including Port. Eg: 198.99.88.223
    4. TTL = 1/2 Hours
    5. Finish
    SRV Record
    1. Then Go to "Add record" and set it to a "SRV Record type.
    2. Name: = Play
    3. Target: = play.domainname.com
    4. Protocol: = _tcp
    5. Service: = _minecraft
    6. Prority: = 0
    7. Weight = 4
    8. Port: = Server Port
    9. TTL: 1/2 Hours
    10. Finish
    These are what your setup should look look. It will take 1 - 24Hours for changes to take place, before your domain will be joinable

    You can Create you Mcprohosting Sub-Domain and use a Cname to forward traffic to therehttp://puu.sh/k79G6/401f73b6dd.png only do A and srv or Cname only
     
  11. Dragon_Foxy

    Dragon_Foxy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    What host are you using? Becuse mine is waaay diffrent!
     
  12. ChrisC

    ChrisC Forum Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    259
    This is using GoDaddy. But steps are the same for all DomainHost. For a server that is not 25565 requires an A and SRV record.

    Srv record will add the port to the A record.
    A record will direct to the server.

    Note different domainHost can look different and make it harder to setup. You can use CloudFlare in this case to make it easyer.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Clyv

    Clyv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    Connect with teamfactions.net: port


    If your port is 25565 then you shouldn't need it
     
  14. Dragon_Foxy

    Dragon_Foxy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    allready tried, but didnt worked
     
  15. Clyv

    Clyv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ignore that, your ip is


    mc.teamfactions.net:48359
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    MCProHosting is the world's largest and leading server provider founded in 2011. Our mission is to provide top-quality support and premium services backed by a committed group of individuals who work to ensure your experience is nothing but the best.

    We have provided services to over 550,000 satisfied clients worldwide by exceeding the industry standard and with our passion to develop the community for the better. We keep this mentality every day as we move forward and expand our family.
  • Follow us on Twitter!